Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership

Central Illinois

Thomas Q. Keefe, Jr., trial attorney and Interim Dean of the St. Louis University School of Law, will be honored at the Fourth Annual Joseph R. Bartylak Award Dinner on Friday, May 3, at the Governor’s Mansion in Springfield.         

The Lawyers’ Assistance Program has been confidentially assisting Illinois lawyers, judges, law students and their families with alcohol, substance abuse and mental health issues since 1980. LAP created the Joseph R. Bartylak Award to be awarded annually to deserving ‘downstate’ volunteers. Joe Bartylak served LAP since its inception as an incorporator, volunteer, Board member and as the Associate Director from 2002-2007. Joe also served as Director of Land of Lincoln Legal Services for many years.

This year we will honor Dean Keefe for his continued support of LAP and its mission. Tom exemplifies the qualities that Joe brought to this important work.

Dinner tickets are $75 per person. Tables of 8 may be purchased for $600. If you are interested in attending, please contact Hon. James Radcliffe (ret.), Associate Director, so that we can include you on our mailing list.  He can be reached via mail at 2217 West Main Street, Belleville, IL 62226; via e-mail at  and via phone at (618) 444-9706.

Jill Ausdenmoore of Springfield, a research staff attorney with the Illinois Appellate Court, Fourth District, is the first place winner in the ISBA’s 2013 Lincoln Award Legal Writing Contest. Ausdenmoore received a cash award of $2,000, and her article, "Arguing Witness Credibility at Closing after People v. Adams," will appear in the February Illinois Bar Journal. The contest is sponsored by the ISBA Young Lawyers Division and is open to all YLD members.

Second place winners are Kelly Greco and Stephanie Hammer, Springfield, who wrote "The Effects of Public Act 97-0848 on Post-Judgment Proceedings in Illinois." Third place goes to Geoffrey Burkhart, Chicago, for "A Guide to the Confrontation Clause." The second place winners split a $1,000 prize, and the third place winner received $500.

A record 38 manuscripts were entered in the 2013 contest. The contest judges were Justice Bertina E. Lampkin of the Illinois Appellate Court, First District; DuPage County Circuit Court Judge Brian R. McKillip; Daniel Wurl of Livingston, Barger, Brandt & Schroeder in Champaign; Sean Brady of Mahoney, Silverman & Cross, LLC in Joliet; and Chicago lawyer Samuel Levine, a partner in the litigation and real estate groups of Arnstein & Lehr LLP.


Mary Lee Leahy
Mary Lee Leahy
ISBA Laureate Mary Lee Leahy passed away Wednesday in Chicago. She was 72. Leahy was best known for winning the U.S. Supreme Court case Rutan v. Republican Party of Illinois – which banned most political hiring. She passed away in her Chicago condominum following a battle with pancreatic cancer.

Here is the bio from her 2001 Laureate induction: Two years after she graduated from law school in 1966, Mary Lee Leahy was principal attorney in the first of several landmark cases she has won in her distinguished career.

Pickering versus Board of Education, argued in the U.S. Supreme Court, established the right of public employees to publicly criticize their employers.

Perhaps her most familiar case – Rutan – was a class action decided in 1990 by the U.S. Supreme Court. It established the right of public employees to support or not to support a political party or candidate for public office without being denied promotion, transfer, recall from lay-off and employment due to a political patronage system. As the saying goes, "this changed everything."

The current term of office of the Honorable Byron G. Cudmore, incumbent United States Magistrate Judge for the Central District of Illinois at Springfield, is due to expire August 31, 2013. The United States District Court is required by law to establish a panel of citizens to consider the reappointment of the magistrate judge to a new eight-year term.

Stanley B. Balbach Sr.
Stanley B. Balbach Sr.
ISBA Laureate and Attorneys’ Title Guaranty Fund, Inc. founder Stanley B. Balbach, Sr., 92 of Savoy died November 12, 2012 at his Savoy home.

Mr. Balbach was born December 26, 1919 in Normal, the son of Nyle Jacob and Gertrude (Cory) Balbach. He married Sarah T. Witherspoon on May 22, 1944 in Jonesboro, Arkansas, and she survives. He is also survived by a son, Byron Balbach. (Jeanne) of Urbana, daughters, Nancy Fehr (Tom) of St. George, Utah, Barbara Balbach-Haines (Jack) of Champaign, Edith Balbach of Palm Springs, California, six grandchildren, two step grandchildren, seven great grandchildren, seven step great grandchildren and one step great-great grandchild. He is preceded in death by a son, Jacob.

The Illinois Supreme Court announced Monday that the Sixth Judicial Circuit judges voted to select Richard L. Broch, Jr. as an associate judge of the Sixth Judicial Circuit.

Mr. Broch received his undergraduate degree in 1978 from Eastern Illinois University in Charleston, and his Juris Doctor in 1981 from Oklahoma City University in Oklahoma City. Mr. Broch is currently engaged in solo practice in Tuscola.  

The Illinois Supreme Court has appointed retired Judge Joe R. Vespa to be Resident Circuit Judge of Stark County. This fills a vacancy created by the retirement of the Honorable Stuart P. Borden.This appointment is effective Dec. 3, 2012 and terminates on April 1, 2013.

Here are the results for Tuesday's judicial elections for all circuits outside of Cook.

Click here for the 1st District results

Candidates must receive 65% on the question of Meets Requirements of Office in order to be Recommended. Winners in bold


4th District Supreme Retention

Candidate Recommended/ Not Recommended Meets Requirements of Office
Rita B. Garman R 95.87

Justice John T. McCoullough
Justice John T. McCoullough
Justice John T. McCullough; fondly referred to as "The Judge", 81, of Lincoln, passed away at his home on Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2012.

Born June 15, 1931 in Streator, he was the son of Mark and Margaret Manes McCullough, the youngest of four children. His family moved to Lincoln when he was 10 years old, where he remained in the town he loved.

Thomas E. Harrington Sr. passed away at 4:30 a.m. Wednesday (Aug. 8, 2012) at home in Champaign.

Tom was born March 2, 1931, in Urbana, the son of Earl C. and Genevieve E. Harrington. He attended Holy Cross School and Champaign High School, graduating as a member of the 1949 class known as the 49er's. Tom loved athletics and lettered in golf, basketball and football in high school. He attended the University of Illinois, graduating in 1953 and was a member of varsity golf team from 1950 to 1953. He then graduated from the University of Illinois College of Law school in 1955.

Tom married Andrea Gunn on Aug. 21, 1954, in Danville, and she survives. They raised four sons, Tom Harrington Jr. (Barb) of Champaign, Dan Harrington (Marianne) of Delray Beach, Fla., Tim Harrington (Kris) of Champaign and Steve Harrington (Lee) of Cocoa Beach, Fla. He is also survived by grandchildren, Elizabeth Wellman (Rob) of Indianapolis, Thomas E. Harrington III of Peoria, Patrick Harrington, Andrew (Emily) Harrington, Danielle (Ryan) Bender, Blakely Harrington, Richard Harrington, Jack Harrington, Joe Harrington, Genevieve Harrington, Kassie Jones and Kyler Jones, all of Champaign, and Amelia Harrington, Michael Harrington, Hannah Jane Harrington and Katherine Harrington, all of Cocoa Beach, Fla.

Also surviving are brother and sister-in-law, Donald J. Porter and Peggy Porter of Urbana. In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by brother and sister-in-law, W. Kenneth Porter and Leta Porter, and sister, Sister Teresa Ann Harrington OSB.