Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership

Central Illinois

Illinois Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride is seeking public comment on five attorneys who have applied to fill a resident Circuit Court vacancy in Fulton County in the Ninth Judicial Circuit.

The vacancy will be created upon Circuit Judge William C. Davis' retirement, effective September 5, 2016. Under the Illinois Constitution, judicial vacancies are filled by Supreme Court appointment. Justice Kilbride uses an extensive application, evaluation and interview process to make recommendations to the full Court for judicial vacancies in the Third Judicial District.

The five attorneys who have applied to fill the vacancy are Bruce C. Beal of Cuba, Jeremy A. Beard of Dunlap, Curtis S. Lane of Canton, Jeff L. Neigel of Canton, and Hugh F. Toner III of Peoria.

The United States Attorney's Office (USAO), Central District of Illinois is seeking an experienced attorney to serve in the Civil Division and handle defensive cases where they will defend government agencies and employees of the government sued in an individual capacity in a wide variety of challenging cases and to represent the government in affirmative litigation when public funds have been wrongfully obtained by fraud. The Civil Division defends the interest of the United States from suits alleging statutory torts, constitutional torts, employment discrimination, and a myriad of other claims. The Civil Division also prosecutes cases for fraud and other violations of federal laws and is responsible for collecting monies owed to the government as a result of criminal fines, defaulted student loans, mortgage foreclosures, bond forfeitures and civil judgments. The division's civil rights enforcement program investigates and litigates cases involving discrimination in the areas of housing, public employment, disability, voting and education.

Job Description: 

Chief Justice Rita B. Garman of the Supreme Court of Illinois has begun an application process for an At-Large Circuit Court vacancy in the Sixth Judicial Circuit.

The vacancy will be created by the retirement of Judge Harry E. Clem on September 15, 2016. Judge Clem has been a judge since 1979.

Brown, Hay, and Stephens, LLP, is pleased to announce that on June 1, 2016, it opened an office in Edwardsville, Illinois. The additional location will allow the firm to improve its ability to service the diverse needs of existing clients and to introduce Illinois' oldest law firm to the Metro-East area. Established in 1828 by John T. Stuart, Abraham Lincoln’s first law partner, Brown, Hay & Stephens also maintains an office in Chicago.

The new office is located at 101 West Vandalia St., Suite 305-M, Edwardsville, Il 62025, Telephone No. (618) 250-2006.

The Illinois Supreme Court has appointed Associate Judge Bradley T. Paisley as the resident circuit judge of Christian County in the Fourth Judicial Circuit.

Judge Paisley was appointed Wednesday to fill the vacancy created by the December 31, 2015, retirement of resident Circuit Judge Ronald D. Spears. The appointment takes effect July 11, 2016.

Illinois Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride has announced an application process for appointment to a resident Circuit Court vacancy in Fulton County in the Ninth Judicial Circuit.

The vacancy will be created upon Circuit Judge William C. Davis' retirement, effective September 5, 2016. Judge Davis was elected in 2006 and is the resident judge at the Fulton County Courthouse in Lewistown.

Jerald Jackson
Jerald Jackson
Jerald E. Jackson, 94, of Decatur, passed into eternal life at 9:24 p.m. Tuesday (May 17, 2016) at Decatur Memorial Hospital. 

Jerald was born April 25, 1922, in St. Mary's, the son of Earl Lee and Nina Marie Walters Jackson. He married D. Miriam Schory on Feb. 28, 1944, in Chicago.

Jerald graduated from Western Illinois University with a bachelor of science degree. He later graduated from the University of Chicago Law School with a juris doctorate, cum laude, receiving the Order of the Coif while there. From 1950 to present, he was a partner in Samuels, Miller, Schroeder, Jackson & Sly law firm in Decatur. Jerald was a member of the Illinois Supreme Court committee of Pattern Jury Instructions and the Illinois Supreme Court committee of Character and Fitness.

Lois Wood
Lois Wood
J. William Lucco
J. William Lucco
Join the Fellows of the Illinois Bar Foundation for the Metro East Fellows Reception on Thursday, July 21 from 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. at the DoubleTree Hotel, 1000 Eastport Plaza Drive, Collinsville, IL 62234.

The event, presented by Russell K. Scott, Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale, P.C., will honor attorneys J. William Lucco (Lucco, Brown, Threlkeld & Dawson, LLP) and Lois Wood (Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation) for their leadership and dedication to the law.

James E. Gorman IIJames E. Gorman II, age 85, passed away peacefully on Monday, May 2, 2016, at his home in Edwardsville, IL. 

He was born on November 9, 1930, in Chicago, Illinois; the son of the late James and Mae Catherine (Jiracek) Gorman. He is survived by his wife of fifty-five years, Beverly Ann Gorman. They were married on October 1, 1960, at St. Mary's Church in Edwardsville, IL. He is survived by three sisters, Marcella Gorman, Virginia Schweinberg (late Donald),and Patricia Kruger (John). Sisters who preceded him in death include Rosemary Leach (Chuck Leach) and Jean Hughes (late Robert). 

The National Association of Prosecutor Coordinators (NAPC) has selected Jennifer Cifaldi, Assistant State’s Attorney in Adams County, Illinois, as the recipient of its 2016 National Traffic Safety Prosecutor of the Year Award.  NAPC is the national association of Prosecutor Coordinators and staff who provide leadership, training, legislative advocacy and support services for America's state and local prosecutors.  NAPC, in cooperation with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), annually presents the award to a prosecutor who has worked tirelessly to save lives in impaired driving and vehicular homicide cases.