Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership

Chicago Area

Jayne Reardon
Jayne Reardon
The Illinois Supreme Court announced today that Jayne Reardon has been appointed as executive director of the Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism, a body established to improve civility between and among lawyers, their clients and judges in Illinois. Ms. Reardon, a University of Michigan Law School graduate who is an experienced Illinois lawyer and licensed to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court, has served as deputy director of the commission since 2006. During that time, she has been a key formulator of policy approved by the Commission and a facilitator of quality continuing legal education in the area of professional responsibility. Supreme Court Justice Robert R. Thomas initiated the concept of the Commission to improve professionalism among lawyers and judges, and the full Supreme Court established the Commission in 2005. The Commission has achieved its goals with limited staff and budget. No taxpayers dollars are involved as the Commission is funded by a small portion of the annual registration and licensing fees paid by Illinois attorneys.
The Women's Bar Association of Illinois will hold its 14th annual "No Threat, No Sweat" golf outing on Thursday, Aug. 20, at Indian Lakes Resort in Bloomingdale. This is a shotgun scramble event so players of all skill levels are welcome. Cost is $150 for members, their guests and judges, $175 for non-members. This fee includes 18 holes of golf, cart, beverages, BBQ lunch and a dinner reception. Click here to register.
Peter Flowers
Peter Flowers of the Geneva firm Foote, Meyers, Mielke & Flowers was installed as the 56th President of the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association in early June at its annual convention. Flowers, 41, obtained his Bachelor of Arts degree in 1989 from Loyola University and his Juris Doctor in 1992 from DePaul University. Currently, Flowers concentrates his practice in the areas of medical malpractice, wrongful death litigation, workers' compensation, personal injury and product liability litigation. He has a special interest in the representation of children who have been injured by the neglectful conduct of medical professionals. Flowers is a member of the American Association for Justice, Chicago Bar Association, Illinois State Bar Association (a member of the ISBA Assembly), DuPage County Bar Association and Kane County Bar Association.
"Administrative Hearings & Appeals" and "Landlord-Tenant Disputes" will be presented by ISBA cable TV presentations during the month of July on Chicago Access Network Channel 21. "Administrative Hearings & Appeals" will air on July 7 and July 21 at 10 p.m. This program will be moderated by Nancy Z. Hablutzel and feature Patti Gregory-Chang of the City of Chicago, Jewel Klein of the Law Firm of Barry H. Greenburg and the Hon. Laguina Clay-Clark of the Circuit Court of Cook County. "Landlord-Tenant Disputes" will air on July 14 and July 28 at 10 p.m. Hablutzel will moderate this program featuring Michael Zink of Starr and Rowels and the Hon. Leonard Murray, Associate Judge for the Circuit Court of Cook County.
Dan Reinberg
Daniel Reinberg
Daniel S. Reinberg has joined Polsinelli Shughart PC, as a shareholder, to practice in health care compliance and white collar criminal litigation. Reinberg is a former Assistant United States Attorney, Northern District of Illinois, where he was responsible for investigating and prosecuting federal crimes involving police corruption, health care fraud, securities fraud and other white collar fraud. He is recognized in the legal community as a 2008 Outstanding Healthcare Litigator and one of 13 lawyers listed as a 2006 Outstanding Fraud & Compliance Lawyer by Nightingale's Healthcare News. In 2009, he was named an Illinois Super Lawyer®. Reinberg received his J.D., magna cum laude, in 1991 from Northwestern University School of Law, where he was managing editor of the Northwestern University Law Review. He graduated cum laude Miami University, where he received his B.S. in business administration. He was previously a partner at Foley & Lardner where he practiced white collar defense, corporate compliance and enforcement practices. Illinois Lawyer Now is happy to announce transitions for ISBA members. Please include name, position, law firm, practice areas, education information and former employer. A mug shot in  the JPG file format may also be included. Send information to
The newly organized Illinois Model Government student organization at The John Marshall Law School hosted its first program on Saturday, June 13. Carrie Clark (second from left), chair, welcomed members of the panel (from left) Professor Ann Lousin; Cook County Assistant State’s Attorney Jeanne Wrenn; ISBA member and former Illinois Comptroller Dawn Clark Netsch; and Illinois Sen. Kwame Raoul.
The newly organized Illinois Model Government student organization at The John Marshall Law School hosted its first program on June 13. Carrie Clark (second from left), chair, welcomed members of the panel (from left) Professor Ann Lousin; Cook County Assistant State’s Attorney Jeanne Wrenn; ISBA member and former Illinois Comptroller Dawn Clark Netsch; and Illinois State Sen. Kwame Raoul.
We invite you to share your hard-won knowledge and maybe win $2,000 in prize money by entering the 51st Annual Lincoln Award Legal Writing Contest. We're looking for useful, practical articles on topics important to practicing lawyers. The highest scores will go to manuscripts that Illinois lawyers can use in their practices, written in a no-nonsense, plain-English style. If you're an ISBA lawyer member under age 36 as of July 1, 2009, or admitted to the bar fewer than five years as of that date, you're eligible to compete for a share of the $3,500 in Lincoln Award prize money and a handsome plaque for your office. And even if you don't win, yours may be among the many Lincoln Award entries to appear in the Illinois Bar Journal. Click here for more details. Click here for contest rules and application. And don't delay -- the deadline for filing a notice to enter the contest is July 15!
Kevin Millon
Kevin Millon
Kevin H. Millon is the recipient of the 2009 DuPage County Bar Association's Ralph Gabric Award.  This is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a lawyer or judge by the bar association.  First conferred in 1997, the award is presented to that member of the DCBA whose personality, leadership and professionalism has significantly enhanced the organization as exemplified by the characteristics of Ralph A. Gabric, President of the DCBA from 1981 to 1982, who also later served as President of the Illinois State Bar Association. "I can't think of a more fitting recipient of the Ralph A. Gabric Award than Kevin Millon," stated outgoing DCBA President Thomas A.
Kent Gaertner
Kent Gaertner
Kent A. Gaertner of Aurora was installed as President of the DuPage County Bar Association for the 2009-2010 term at the annual installation of officers and directors on  June 18. In remarks to several hundred of the DCBA's 2,200 member attorneys and their guests, Gaertner said: "The DuPage County Bar Association will continue to work to provide its members with unmatched services and support.  This will allow our members to serve their clients more efficiently.  Our programs will also be directed to helping our members balance their professional lives with their family lives so the practice of law becomes more fulfilling for them." Gaertner is a partner in the Wheaton law firm of Springer Brown Covey Gaertner and Davis, and has focused on bankruptcy law for over twenty-five years.  He has represented both individuals and corporations in all manner of bankruptcy proceedings and workouts.  His practice includes representing debtors, creditors and bankruptcy trustees.  He received his J.D.