Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership


ISBA President John G. Locallo uses his latest Tech Minute to highlight the Practice Tools section of the ISBA website.



Paula H. Holderman
Paula H. Holderman
ISBA 2nd Vice President Paula H. Holderman was one of six ISBA members honored by Chicago Lawyer Magazine as Women Making an Impact in 2012.

Holderman, who will become ISBA President-elect at the Annual Meeting in June, is the chief attorney development officer for Winston & Strawn LLP. She took the lead to establish the ISBA's Law and Leadership Institute to expose diverse young women and men to the profession of law.

Other ISBA members honored included Women's Bar Association of Illinois President Deane Brown of Beerman Pritkin Mirabeli Swerdlove LLP, Jean Golden of Cassidy Schade, Jill B. Berkeley of Neal Gerber & Eisenberg, Meighan A. Harmon of Schiller DuCanto & Fleck LLP and Amy Manning of McGuireWoods LLP.

The Illinois State Bar Association’s Lawyer Finder Service provides referrals to local lawyers Mondays through Fridays.  The Servicemakes referrals in a number of areas of law.  For the month of April, 2012 ISBA helped people in need of legal services find lawyers in the following areas:

Jessica A. O'Brien
Jessica A. O'Brien
Election results are in and Jessica A. O'Brien of Chicago has won a contested race for a seat on the Illinois State Bar Association's Board of Governors. Electronic voting was again the preferred method of voting - this time by a greater than 10-1 margin (1,451 electronic; 123 written). All terms begin at the 2012 Annual Meeting.

Umberto S. Davi of Willowbrook was the previously announced winner in the uncontested race for 3rd Vice President. He will become president of ISBA in 2015 after serving a year in each of the three vice presidential posts. Five Board members ran uncontested: James F. McCluskey (Lisle); Lisa M. Nyuli (South Elgin); Sonni Choi Williams (Peoria); Charles Y. Davis (Springfield); and Russell K. Scott (Belleville).

Here are the Board and Assembly election results (winners in bold):

Board of Governors - Cook County - 1 to be elected

Mark L. Karno, Chicago            667
Jessica A. O’Brien, Chicago        811

Robert E. Craghead
Robert E. Craghead
Illinois State Bar Association Executive Director Robert E. Craghead has won a contested election for a two-year term on the board of the National Association of Bar Executives.

Craghead has spent his entire professional career with ISBA, from starting out as the Young Lawyers Association Director to the past 18 years as Executive Director. He was the 2003 recipient of the NABE Bolton Award for Professional Excellence.

The National Association of Bar Executives, an affiliate of the American Bar Association, was founded in 1941 to serve the management staff of bar associations and law-related organizations.

John and Terry Thies
John and Terry Thies

Early Booking Discount Extended! Save $500 per couple if you register by May 18!

Join President-elect John E. Thies and his wife Terry on the fall 2012 ISBA President’s Trip to China. Take a moment away from your busy day, close your eyes and picture yourself in a land steeped in thousands of years of history. Picture a place where the echoes of distant empires can still be heard above the urban roar of modern technology, where natural landscapes stand in stark and beautiful contrast to contemporary cityscapes. You are in a land rich in tradition and ripe with possibility.

See yourself in the cosmopolitan atmosphere of Shanghai admiring the reflections of the city in the Huangpu River while strolling along the famous Bund. Listen to the chatter of colorful markets filled with unexpected treasures, savor the refined flavors of a dim sum lunch, and let the floral aromas of ancient gardens wash over you.

The Illinois Bar Foundation (IBF), the grant-making arm of the Illinois State Bar Association (ISBA), has announced the recipients of its fiscal year 2012 grants totaling $330,000 which will be awarded to 36 law-related nonprofit organizations, including:

Serving Chicago & Cook County

  • Cabrini Green Legal Aid, $10,000
  • CARPLS Legal Aid, $10,000
  • Center for Disability and Elder Law, $7,500
  • Center on Halsted, $7,500
  • Chicago Law and Education Foundation, $10,000
  • Chicago Volunteer Legal Services, $10,000
  • Domestic Violence Legal Clinic, $15,000
  • Family Rescue, $7,500
  • Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society of Chicago, $10,000
  • Lawndale Christian Legal Center, $15,000
  • Lawyers Committee for Better Housing, $10,000
  • Legal Aid Society of Metropolitan Family Services, $10,000
  • Life Span, $10,000

Serving Areas Outside of Cook County

  • A Safe Place: Lake County Crisis Center, Located in Zion, $6,000
  • Alternatives for Older Adults, Located in Moline, $10,000
  • Immigration Project, Located in Bloomington, $7,500
  • Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation, Located in East St. Louis, $15,000
  • Prairie State Legal Services, Located in Rockford, $15,000
  • Riverview Center, Located in Galena, $5,000
  • Sojourn Shelter & Services, Inc, Located in Springfield, $5,000
  • The Parent Place, Located in Springfield, $10,000
  • Violence Prevention Center of Southwestern Illinois, Located in Belleville, $7,000

Serving Statewide

VR Election Services, ISBA’s election provider, has e-mailed e-ballots to members with valid email addresses and mailed paper ballots to members without email addresses. If you haven’t received your e-ballot, please check your email spam under the suffix If your e-ballot is not in your spam folder, or if you received an electronic ballot and want to vote by paper ballot, please contact VRES at (800) 218-4026 or by email at

Online voting ends at 4:30 p.m. CT on Monday, April 30. Paper ballots must be received at VR Election Services in Texas by 4:30 p.m. CT on Monday, April 30, 2012 in order to be counted.

Full election results will be available on Illinois Lawyer Now on Friday, May 4, 2012.

All members with their dues paid by March 1st are eligible to vote if there is a contested election in their area. The two contested elections are Cook County Board of Governors, and Cook County Assembly.

ISBA President John G. Locallo (right) presents Kane County Sheriff Patrick Perez, of Aurora, with the ISBA’s annual Law Enforcement Award. The award we presented at the Kane County Bar Association’s annual Judges Night on Tuesday, April 24, at Fox Valley Country Club in North Aurora.

Well-Intentioned but Flawed

HJRCA 29 is a constitutional amendment that creates standing for victims to participate in criminal proceedings as a party before the defendant’s guilt is established.

The Illinois State’s Attorneys’ Association and the Illinois State Bar Association oppose HJRCA 29. In its current form this proposal is unwise, unworkable, and unnecessary. We are concerned about its unintended consequences, such as court delays, longer incarceration awaiting trials, and wrongful convictions. HJRCA 29’s practical effect is that it will delay justice for victims by pitting prosecutors against victims instead of allowing them to be advocates for victims. That result isn’t helpful for victims or the public.

It is unwise. A criminal proceeding is a truth-seeking process that promotes public safety by adjudicating guilt and punishing the guilty. The awesome power to prosecute and imprison is vested with the government—not private parties. This means that victims and defendants are not contestants who require equal standing; the victim’s liberty and property are not at risk. But authorizing a victim to participate as a party with all of the standing of a prosecutor and defendant but none of their responsibilities, roles, and risks is a recipe for disaster. It is a return to the days of private, not public, justice.

It is unworkable. Illinois circuit courts annually process a staggering number of cases: