Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership

Northern Illinois

Katherine Chamberlain
Katherine Chamberlain
As of Labor Day 2011, Katherine Chamberlain has opened the Law Office of Katherine Chamberlain, P.C. in Princeton, Illinois. As a solo practitioner, Katherine plans to focus her practice on estate planning, guardianships, and real estate. She has also published journal articles on constitutional law and copyright law.

Katherine graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with a JD in 2009 and a master's degree in library and information science in 2010. She received her bachelor of arts summa cum laude in English in 2006 from the University of Alabama.  Please visit her on the web at

Rolfe Ehrmann, co-founder of the Dixon firm Ehrmann, Gehlbach, Badger and Lee, passed away on July 26 at his home. He was a graduate of the DePaul University College of Law and a member of the American, Illinois and Lee County bar associations.

Read the full obituary in the Sterling Daily Gazette.

Patricia J. Naylor
Patricia J. Naylor
Nabil G. Foster
Nabil G. Foster

The national law firm of Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP is proud to announce the election of the following ISBA members to partnership:

Nabil G. Foster, of Chicago, defends attorneys in professional liability and disciplinary matters. He also represents clients in commercial litigation and has handled matters involving subjects such as internet gambling, breach of contract, civil rights, consumer fraud, ERISA, eminent domain, employment discrimination, insurance coverage, products liability and professional liability. Mr. Foster is an Adjunct Professor at Northwestern University School of Law. He is a member of the Illinois State Bar Association and the American Bar Association. Mr. Foster earned his J.D. in 2000 from Northwestern University School of Law, and his A.B. from Harvard College in 1994.

The Illinois Supreme Court has approved the appointment of Regina Ann Scannicchio as a Circuit Judge of Cook County, Fourteenth Subcircuit. This appointment fills the vacancy created by the retirement of the Hon. Lawrence O'Gara. It is effective July 5 and terminates on Dec. 3, 2012.

The Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts announced Wednesday that Karen C. Eiten, received a majority of the votes cast by the circuit judges in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit and is declared to be appointed to the office of associate judge.

Ms. Eiten received her undergraduate degree in 1980 from Western Illinois University in Macomb and her Juris Doctor in 1983 from DePaul University in Chicago. Ms. Eiten is currently engaged in solo practice in LaSalle.

Scott Michael Smith, of rural Cambridge, passed away on Sunday, April 3, 2011.

Scott began his law career as an associate for two years at the law firm of Kell, Nuelle and Loizzo, in Woodstock. He was honored to be a shareholder in the Cambridge firm of Telleen, Horberg, Smith and Carmen, P.C. for the past 17 years. Scott's primary areas of practice were corporate transactions, municipal government, real estate, estate planning and estate administration.

He was an honors graduate of Oregon High School in 1983. He completed his undergraduate degree magna cum laude at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1987, majoring in accounting, receiving his CPA accreditation in 1992. He graduated from Northern Illinois University College of Law, magna cum laude, in 1992.

Scott was active in many community and service organizations, including Cambridge/Geneseo Chapter of Rebuilding Together, Cambridge Rotary Club, Cambridge Academic Foundation, and served as president for all these organizations. He also served on the boards of Black Hawk College Foundation, Junior Achievement, Brave Heart Child Advocacy Center and was named Volunteer of the Year in 2008. He was on the board of Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, past president of the Henry County Bar Association and a member of the Illinois and American Bar Associations. He was a member of the American Association of Attorney-Certified Public Accountants and the Christian Legal Society.

He is survived by his wife Beth and his four children.

Read the full obituary in the Ogle County News

The Illinois Supreme Court has appointed Richard James Lannon Jr. as Resident Circuit Judge of the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, LaSalle County. The appointment is effective on April 18, 2011 and terminates on Dec. 3, 2012.

Northern Illinois

This post is updated with breaking news throughout the day.

More Daily Legal News available at

The Illinois Supreme Court announced today that the 22nd Judicial Circuit judges voted to select Mark R. Gerhardt as an associate judge of the 22nd Judicial Circuit.

Mr. Gerhardt received his undergraduate degree in 1990 from the University of Illinois and his Juris Doctor in 1995 from The John Marshall Law School. Mr. Gerhardt is currently affiliated with Wiejaczka Law, PC, in Hawthorn Woods.

Elizabeth J. Cervantes

Jeffrey D. Jacobs

Jeffrey D. Jacobs and Elizabeth J. Cervantes have joined the Moline firm of Bozeman, Neighbour, Patton & Noe, LLP as associates.

Mr. Jacobs graduated from Drake University magna cum laude and from Chicago Kent School of law.  He is licensed in Illinois.  His practice concentration is in the business area, including transactional work and resolution of disputes.

Ms. Cervantes is a graduate of the University of Iowa and the Iowa Law School.  She is in general practice with an emphasis on litigation.