Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership

Southern Illinois

Shane Moskop

The Belleville law firm of Freeark, Harvey & Mendillo, P.C. located at 115 West Washington Street is pleased to announce that Shane Moskop has become a partner at the firm.

Shane Moskop was born in St. Louis and graduated summa cum laude from Saint Louis University with a BS degree in finance in 2002. He graduated from Saint Louis University Law School in 2005, and was admitted to the Illinois Bar in October of 2005. While obtaining his undergraduate degree, he worked as a financial analyst in Monsanto Corporation’s Financial Analysis & Planning Department, and worked as a law clerk in Monsanto’s International Tax Department while obtaining his juris doctorate.

Shane concentrates his practice in the areas of business litigation, mechanic’s lien enforcement, breach of contract actions, insurance defense, will contests, trust disputes, products liability, personal injury, and estate planning. The law firm operates a general practice with emphasis in civil litigation of all kinds.

David F. Neiers

Helfrey, Neiers & Jones, P.C., announces that David F. Neiers has once again been included in the prestigious publication of Best Lawyers in America. Mr. Neiers is being recognized for his real estate practice.

Mr. Neiers is a shareholder in the firm's real estate and corporate practice group and has over 23 years of experience in all areas of real estate transactions and development, business planning and estate planning.  Mr. Neiers’ practice is concentrated in transactional real estate, including zoning and development, business and estate planning and banking law.

Helfrey, Neiers & Jones, P.C., provides legal services to businesses and individual clients in the areas of business transactions, commercial litigation, real estate transactions and development, corporate formation, white-collar criminal defense, estate and business planning, personal injury, mergers and acquisitions, taxation, and regulatory compliance.

Major John Francis Lynn, USMC Retired, 58, passed away at 4:12 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 10, 2010, in Herrin Hospital.

He was born March 8, 1952, in Chicago, the son of William Francis and Ruth Mary (Meier) Lynn.

John was united in marriage to Patty Durall on May 29, 1976, in Marion, and together they have shared the last 34 years of marriage.

John answered the call of this nation by serving in the U.S. Marine Corps for three years as an enlisted member, and 20 years as an officer, retiring as a major. He served as a tank officer in California and North Carolina and was a foreign area officer in Central and South America.

He was a graduate of Southern Illinois University School of Law in Carbondale and, at the present time, served as assistant dean for Administration of SIU School of Law.

John was a member of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Marion. He was a member of Illinois State Bar Association and Pro Bono Counsel for Fisher House in Chicago. He was director of the Veterans' Legal Assistance Program at SIU School of Law and spent considerable time working on behalf of local veterans.

He worked with Big Brothers of Georgia, and he was a supporter of the Special Olympics.

The Illinois Supreme Court announced Tuesday that Eugene E. Gross received a majority of the votes cast by the circuit judges in the Twentieth Judicial Circuit and has been appointed to the office of associate judge.

Mr. Gross received his undergraduate degree in 1980 from Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, Illinois and his Juris Doctor in 1983 from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. Mr. Gross is currently affiliated with Reed, Heller, Mansfield & Gross in DuQuoin, Illinois

Illinois Supreme Court Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier announced Monday that an application process has begun for a Circuit Court vacancy in Williamson County, First Judicial Circuit.

The resident Circuit vacancy is being created by the announced resignation of Circuit Judge Ronald R. Eckiss, effective November 1, 2010.

Under the Illinois Constitution, the Supreme Court holds the authority to fill interim judicial vacancies. Justice Karmeier uses an application, evaluation and interview process to make recommendations to the Court for vacancies in the Fifth Judicial District.

Applicants must submit a cover letter with the Requested Information of an Applicant Form to:

Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier Supreme Court of Illinois P.O. Box 266 Nashville, IL 62263

The form may be obtained from the office of Chief Judge Mark H. Clarke of the First Judicial Circuit in Cairo; or from Williamson County Circuit Clerk Stuart Hall; or from Resident Circuit Judges Ronald Eckiss and Phillip Palmer at the Williamson County Courthouse; or from the Williamson County Bar Association or from Justice Karmeier.

Applicants' cover letter and completed form must be received in Justice Karmeier's office no later than Thursday, October 7, 2010. The person appointed to fill the vacancy will serve until the position is filled through the November 2012 General Election. The appointment will terminate December 3, 2012. To be eligible for appointment, a person must be a resident of Williamson County at the time of the appointment.

Williamson County is one of nine counties in the First Judicial Circuit; the First Judicial Circuit is also comprised of the southern Illinois counties of Alexander, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Saline and Union.

The Illinois Supreme Court on Wednesday appointed Stephen P. McGlynn as Circuit Judge at large in the Twentieth Judicial Circuit. Mr. McGlynn, who had served before by appointment on the Fifth District Appellate Court, will fill the Circuit vacancy created by the resignation of Judge Michael O’ Malley.

The appointment will take effect September 17 and will terminate December 3, 2012. Supreme Court Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier recommended Mr. McGlynn’s appointment after an application process which included review by a specially selected screening committee and interviews by Justice Karmeier of three finalists.

Nineteen persons applied for the position, one withdrew and the remaining applicants were screened by the six-person committee who presented Justice Karmeier with the names of the three finalists.

“I want to thank the Supreme Court and Justice Karmeier for the confidence they have placed in me, and the bipartisan selection committee that did its job in evaluating a number of very good people who applied,” said Mr. McGlynn. “I really enjoyed my prior tenure on the bench, and I’m very honored because I know that a judge can do a lot of good things, and it’s a marvelous way to serve my community.”

The Illinois Supreme Court on Tuesday appointed Associate Judge Michael N. Cook to fill the Circuit Court vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Annette A. Eckert, resident Circuit Judge of St. Clair County in the Twentieth Judicial Circuit.

The appointment, made upon the recommendation of Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier, is effective October 1, 2010.

Judge Cook has served as an associate judge since 2007. Prior to his appointment to the bench, he served as an associate with the Belleville law firm of Cook, Ysursa, Bartholomew, Brauer & Shevlin; he was also an assistant public defender for St. Clair County.

Judge Cook graduated in 1999 with a juris doctor degree from the University of Tulsa. While there, he served on the Board of Advocates and in the Elder Law Legal Clinic. He graduated in 1994 with a bachelor of science degree in anthropology from Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville.

His is a member of the St. Clair County Bar Association and currently serves as its first vice-president. In addition, Judge Cook also serves as chairman of the paralegal scholarship program at Southwestern Illinois College.

Judge Cook is the only candidate seeking to succeed Judge Eckert, and will be unopposed on the November ballot.