Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership


IBF President Vince Cornelius, honoree Judge William Bauer and James Holderman, chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois
The Illinois Bar Foundation honored Judge William Bauer and ISBA Past President Ralph Gabric (posthumously) with the DuPage County Beacon of the Profession Honorary Fellows Award on Friday, April 23. The DuPage County Fellows Chapter hosted this reception at Maggiano's Little Italy in Naperville. Click here to view a photo gallery from this event.

ISBA President John O'Brien
The Illinois Bar Foundation will host a reception honoring Illinois State Bar Association President John O'Brien on Thursday, May 6, at the Metropolis Ballroom, 6 S. Vail Avenue, Arlington Heights. Please RSVP by April 30th to or (312) 726-6072. Registration form

IBF Treasurer and Lincoln Legacy Society charter member James Lestikow with IBF President Vince Cornelius
The Illinois Bar Foundation welcomed its charter members into the Lincoln Legacy Society during a ceremony at Leslie Hindman Auctioneers on Thursday, April 15. The Lincoln Legacy Society was created exclusively to honor and recognize individuals who have agreed to support the Foundation's vision to be the statewide leader in advancing justice in Illinois by providing for the Foundation in his or her estate plan. Abraham Lincoln, the state's most famous lawyer, left an indelible mark on the Illinois legal system. Lincoln Legacy Society members will leave their mark on the legal system through their legacy gifts to the Illinois Bar Foundation. Click here to view a photo gallery from this event Lincoln Legacy Society charter members (Charter membership continues through Dec. 31, 2010):
  • Perry and Michelle Browder, East Alton
  • Vincent & Zina Cornelius, Naperville
  • Carl R. Draper, Springfield
  • Gregg A. Garofalo, Chicago
  • Mark D. Hassakis, Mt. Vernon
  • R. Michael Henderson, Peoria
  • Thomas and Eileen Killarney
  • John B.

Annemarie Kill, Chair of the Standing Committee of Women and the Law, Sonni Williams, Chair of Racial and Ethnic Minorities and the Law, NIU Law Dean Jennifer Rosato and event presenter and newly-elected ISBA 3rd Vice President Paula Holderman
The ISBA Standing Committees on Women and the Law and Ethnic and Racial Minorities and the Law co-sponsored "Seek Power! A Law Student's Guide to Authentic Self Promotion" on April 9 at Northern Illinois University College of Law. Newly-elected 3rd Vice President Paula Holderman presented and Justice Susan F. Hutchinson offered words of wisdom to students preparing their career path. The event was followed by a networking reception at the College's Thurgood Marshall Gallery. Click here to view a photo gallery from this event.

Women's Bar Association President Hon. Patrice Ball-Reed, 2nd Ward Ald. Robert Fioretti, Mistress of Ceremonies actress Sheryl Lee Ralph and the Hon. Shelvin Louise Marie Hall.
On March 31, approximatey 400 lawyers from the Illinois legal community joined together for Lawyers United to Help Haiti Rebuild: A Call to Action.  Spearheaded by the Haitian American Lawyers Association, the Chicago Alumni Chapter of Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, International, and the Haitian Congress to Fortify Haiti, this event united nearly 40 bar associations, numerous law firms and several law schools for an evening in support of charities working in Haiti to rebuild a country shattered by the loss of over 200,000 people as a result of the recent earthquake. Attendees heard remarks from the three Honorary Co-Chairs of the event - Hon. George N. Leighton (Ret.), Mr. Jerold S. Solovy and Mr. Timothy C.

Past ISBA President Hon. Carole K. Bellows (left) and Hon. Rhoda Davis Sweeney (right) congratulate Justice McMorrow.
The Chicago Alumni Chapter of Phi Alpha Delta Law Fraternity, International, recently had its Annual St. PADdy's Day Luncheon. During this event, the Chapter renamed its "Outstanding Service to the Legal Profession Award" in honor of Justice Mary Ann G. McMorrow (Ret.), and presented her with the inaugural award. Justice McMorrow was the first woman elected to the Illinois Supreme Court, the first female Chief Justice of that tribunal, and the first woman to head any branch of Illinois state government. Click here to view a photo gallery from this event.
Take advantage of this opportunity to secure your room reservations early for the ISBA's 134th Annual Meeting in St. Louis. A complete schedule and meeting registration information will be available online in the near future.
  • June 24 - 26, 2010
  • Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
To make your room reservations at the Hyatt, please call (888) 421-1442 or make your reservation online. The room rate is $169 single or double plus applicable state and local taxes (currently 15.491%). Deadline for Reservations is May 21, 2010.

William Mock
The John Marshall Law School will host a book release reception in honor of Professor William Mock, Vice-Chair of the ISBA Section on International Law, and his newest book - Human Rights in Europe: Commentary on the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union - Tuesday, April 6 from 5–7 p.m. in Room 3East at The John Marshall Law School, 315 S. Plymouth Court. Human Rights in Europe: Commentary on the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union is designed to help readers understand the European Union’s Charter of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms. Unlike the U.S. Bill of Rights, the Charter provides European citizens with specific rights in areas as diverse as family law, labor law, administrative procedure, and the protection of personal data. Professor Mock joined the John Marshall faculty in 1983 and served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs from 2004 to 2007. He is the founding director of the law school’s International Law Center and LL.M. programs in comparative law and international economic law. He teaches international and corporate courses at John Marshall – and has published many works on aspects of international law.  Prior to joining the John Marshall faculty, Mock practiced international trade law in Washington, D.C. The reception is free and open to the public. Copies of Professor Mock’s book will be available for purchase and signing at the event.

Wednesday, March 31 Hyatt Regency Chicago Register Now - Call 312.726.6072
The Lawyers’ Assistance Program has been assisting Illinois lawyers, judges, law students and their families with alcohol, substance abuse and mental health issues since 1980. The backbone of LAP is its hundreds of trained volunteers. In this, our 30th year, LAP has created the Joseph R. Bartylak Award to be awarded to a deserving volunteer annually. The first recipient is John Huffman of Carbondale. Joe Bartylak has been involved with LAP since its inception and served as the Associate Director from 2002-2007.  Joe also served as Director of Land of Lincoln Legal Services for many years. In recognition of Joe, John and all of our volunteers, LAP will have a dinner on March 26 at the Governor’s Mansion in Springfield. Justice Lloyd Karmeier of the Illinois Supreme Court has graciously agreed to be our keynote speaker. Contact Jim Radcliffe, a retired judge from St. Clair County and current Associate Director of LAP, at for more information.