Two Great ISBA Member Benefits Sponsored by
A Value of $1,344, Included with Membership


The 2017 Class of Laureates Induction took place on Thursday, March 30, 2017, at a luncheon held at the Standard Club in Chicago.

This year, the Academy of Illinois Lawyers, founded in 1999 to enhance the honor and dignity of the Bar of Illinois, recognized nine lawyers as Laureate Award recipients. Selected by the Board of Regents, these nine individuals — ISBA members who have practiced law primarily in Illinois for at least 25 years — have distinguished themselves by exemplifying the highest ideals of the profession. They are beacons to others who seek to uphold the highest standards in the practice of law.

2017 Laureates with Vincent Cornelius
2017 Laureates with Vincent Cornelius
Thursday’s luncheon began with a welcome reception, giving Laureate Award recipients and their family, friends, and colleagues an opportunity to socialize and network with other attendees. The reception was followed by lunch and the award ceremony.

During the ceremony, award recipients took the stage. One by one, the nine recipients were introduced to the audience. Each Laureate stood during his or her introduction, as career highlights and notable professional accomplishments were presented. ISBA President Vincent Cornelius then awarded each recipient with a medal to honor their record of service to the law and public.

This year’s recipients are among the 111 lawyers who have been selected for the award since its inception in 1999.

Congratulations to the 2017 Class of Laureates!

ISBA election ballots were distributed Wednesday, March 29, 2017 to eligible voters (i.e., ISBA lawyer members whose dues were paid by March 1, 2017).

Eligible voters should have received an email from Election-America at, assuming those voters added Election-America as a safe sender in their email settings.

Due to potential spam filters, we are offering an alternative method to vote using ISBA’s website.

To vote online,

Go to:

If you are not logged in, click “Login to Vote” and sign in using your ISBA member login information. 

If you are logged in, click the “Vote” button.

If you prefer to vote by paper ballot, please email our vendor Election-America at or call (866) 384-9978 Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. CT. The last day to request a paper ballot is April 14, 2017.

All voters may vote for 3rd Vice President, and those with ISBA addresses in the following areas may vote in their respective race(s):

1st Judicial District Cook County Board of Governors (elect 2)

1st Judicial District Cook County Under Age 37 Board of Governors (elect 2)

1st Judicial District Cook County Assembly (elect 21)

Outside Cook County (Judicial Circuits 1-23) Under Age 37 Board of Governors (elect 1)

The Illinois State Bar Association’s Lawyer Finder Service provides referrals to local lawyers Mondays through Fridays. The Service makes referrals in a number of areas of law. For the month of February 2017, there were 836 referrals. ISBA helped people in need of legal services find lawyers in the following areas:

Marching on behalf of the ISBA at the annual Chicago St. Patrick’s Day Parade on Saturday were, left to right, Kathleen O’Shaughnessy of the ISBA Mutual Insurance Company, John Murphy, President Elect Hon. Russell Hartigan, Board member Dennis Orsey, and Kristi Vetri. Murphy and Vetri are members of the Standing Committee on Marketing and Communications.

Renovations to the Illinois Bar Center were introduced at a reception held Thursday, March 9, at the Springfield headquarters, which will celebrate its 50th anniversary this year. Improvements include new lifts, railings, and bathrooms to make the building more accessible. Pictured here are, left to right, ISBA Past President Umberto Davi, Illinois Supreme Court Chief Justice Lloyd Karmeier, his wife, Mary, and ISBA Board of Governors member Stephen Komie. 

St. Charles North High School won the 35th annual ISBA High School Mock Trial Invitational, which was held at the University of Illinois College of Law in Champaign March 11 and 12. Timothy Christian High School of Elmhurst came in second and Hinsdale Central High School placed third. Pictured here are, left to right, ISBA Board of Governors members Angelica W. Wawrzynek of Mattoon and Hon. Carey C. Gill of Marion, along with Stephen Iden of Springfield, vice-chair of the Law Related Education for the Public Committee. They served as judges and jurors for the competition.

The ISBA Marketing & Communications Committee invites you to march in the St. Patrick's Day Parade this Saturday, March 11. The Committee will be meeting at the Chicago Office, 20 S. Clark, 9th floor between 11 and 11:30 a.m. before marching over to the parade site on Columbus Drive. You may also meet the group at ISBA's parade spot No. 99. The parade kicks off at noon.

Contact Melissa Burkholder at for further information.

Campaign season is here! Biographies of candidates for the ISBA 3d VP and board of governors races, along with a complete list of Assembly candidates, are online now. Paper ballots will be mailed and e-ballots will be emailed on March 29. Voting concludes April 28 at 4:30 p.m. CDT. All attorney members with dues paid up by March 1 of this year are eligible to vote for races in their area. Find out more at

The 2017 class of laureates of the ISBA Academy of Illinois Lawyers will be honored at a special luncheon at the Standard Club in Chicago on March 30. This year's inductees are Patricia Bronte, Chicago; Joseph Gagliardo, Chicago; Marshall Hartman, Lincolnwood; James Holderman, Chicago; Lori Levin, Chicago; George Mahoney, Joliet; Nicholas Motherway, Chicago; Michael Reagan, Ottawa; and Larry Rogers, Chicago.

 A welcome reception begins at 11:15 a.m., followed by lunch and award ceremony at noon. To order individual tickets, complete the online registration form. The deadline for purchasing tickets is March 24.

The ISBA Academy of Illinois Lawyers honors lawyers "who have established and maintained the highest principles of the profession as demonstrated by their pervasive record of service to the law and the public." Find out more about the Academy and the Laureate Award.

Questions about the luncheon should be directed to Kim Weaver at

All ISBA systems will be down due to electrical construction beginning at 8:00 p.m. on Sunday, February 19, until 8:30 a.m. on the following Tuesday. During this downtime the ISBA website and email discussion groups will not be available. You will also not be able to log into Fastcase or online CLE.

If you will need to access Fastcase during this time, please follow the instructions below.